Without WiFi 

I cancelled my ISP, it was a long time coming. My service sucked, too slow and occasionally dropped,  usually when I was downloading music or podcasts or trying to watch netflix. So nameless provider and I parted ways. I think I will be happier with the $49.00. 

The downside is I have no Internet at home, and internet use at work is strictly enforced so I can’t be checking my Facebook or bidding on stuff on ebay. I can’t check email or ordinary crap like I was used to doing. I was, I am spoiled, it’s a First World problem. 

Since then I’ve been looking for all the places with good free WiFi.  This is my list so far, 3 days without internet.

Public libraries. Bonus is they have computers. However there may be a wait. I cannot say enough about how wonderful and helpful and useful public libraries are and how their funding should be increased, doubled and all staff, even the lazy and surly ones (yeah, even them) get raises. But that’s another rant for another time. Shoutout to Southern Oaks, my home library. www.metrolibrary.org

Dunkin’Donuts Surprise,  you can get your coffee and a donut with your internet. Caffeine, sugar and wifi, what else do you need? Best time is after the morning rush, afternoon is beautifully quiet and slow. Staff does not care as long as you don’t make trouble and buy something. I recommend the blueberry bagels with strawberry cream cheese. www.dunkindonuts.com

Wal-Mart Where I spend most of my life and nearly all my money, I feel they owe me. Warning, not all Wal-Marts are equal and not all, especially those in rural areas, offer WiFi. Worth checking out though. If it makes you feel better think of it as a passive aggressive protest against a corporate superpower when you check your email while buying groceries.  www.walmart.com

 Starbucks Yeah, a cliche but they are everywhere. 

Bus The buses in Seattle have WiFi and I was so impressed with them when I visited there 2 years ago. No big deal, I was told. My local mass transit system finally caught up and now there’s WiFi here. I haven’t tried it yet, the bus stops near me don’t go where I need to go and I usually drive. Most cities offer WiFi on buses and trains now.  www.embarkok.com

Leave a Reply

