Buying stuff

I was broke, too broke to go to the thrift store, after my trip. My bills were paid, Porkchop and I had food but all I had in my purse was twenty cents til payday. Then like sunrise payday came and I breathed again. I also started spending money again. 

The first thing I bought was this Vera Bradley bag on shopgoodwill.com. A virtual thrift store, cheaper than ebay but shipping is high, usually more than the item you buy. The first Vera bag I bought was a Villager in Twirly Birds pink, this pattern. I think this is a Metropolitan, a small carryon with a laptop pocket. It was 7.99. 

Then I hit the most amazing estate sale this morning on my way to Wal-Mart. Most estate sales have better quality stuff than garage sales but higher prices. They also tend to have, well, boring stuff. Old people things, outdated electronics and the like. This started out that way, one of the first things I saw was a collection of giant rodeo belt buckles. Enticing to some but not my thing. I went on in and was glad I did. This is what I found.

Porkchop making himself comfortable on my loot.

Andy Warhol messenger bag, by LootNYC. My cost, $3.00. There’s a pink smudge on lower right Andy’s face but otherwise pristine. I plan to rock this bag at work on Monday. 

Kipling bag, from Fergie line a couple years ago. I saw this, then the Kipling tag and started hoping that woman looking at the pillows next to it would not pick it up. Please, dear lady, ignore it and move away. Soon as she did I swooped in on it and felt a little giddy. I really felt it when I saw it was 5.00. Has the tags and monkey. 

I nearly bought this because it looks like ‘SOD’ as in “sod off.” I chose it because it was .50 and a pretty box with notepaper inside but there was another bonus.

Victoria And Albert Museum. London, people. I’m an anglophile from way back and still hope to visit London and as much of England as possible. This is one less souvenir I’ll need to buy. There was a matching set of note paper and envelopes for $2. I may go back tomorrow when it’s half price and see if it’s still there.

From right to left: blank notes on silvery paper, Marcel Schurman Christmas cards I remember from my Borders days and cute dog and cat Christmas cards. $1 for each. I collect stationery and yes I might have a problem. 

Beautiful detailed book by the late Kevyn Aucoin, Louisiana boy who was a great makeup artist and full of great pictures. Published in 1997, it’s gorgeous and even someone who doesn’t spend a lot of time doing her own face can appreciate this book. $2.00. 

Kitty cat frame, I plan to put a picture of Porkchop in it and send to my son in Saigon. Porkchop had to check it out first. $1.00
 

Bubble wrap. No tag. Today’s total was 15.71

Leave a Reply

