Surprise

I received some important life changing news on Easter. It wasn’t my life that would be changing, not directly, but Bear’s. He told me he and his girlfriend were engaged.

He asked me what I thought of her and I said I liked her. Then he told me the news. I had to sit down. I didn’t have the traditional reaction,  of jumping up and down, crying “I’m so happy ” or “Over my dead body.” None of that. It was more of a “Huh, wow.”

There were the realities of what lay ahead, not picking flowers or attendants but getting documents from halfway around the world. Bear told me they had discussed this very seriously, it wasn’t a spur of the moment thing. They understood it would take time and plan on a February or March wedding.

So I’m telling people, starting with family and friends. The funny thing to me is that no one seems terribly surprised, its been more “huh, wow” reactions. Most people know they’ve been dating awhile and it’s natural,  normal.

It took awhile for it to sink in. I’m sure Jerry would be happy and he would approve. I’m glad for them, I genuinely like her and think they are going into this with realistic expectations. Heckuva lot different than his parents, who were far less prepared, younger and lived mostly on 39 cent tacos.

We’ve started, I sent his baptismal certificate and a letter from our priest stating he isn’t already married and hasn’t taken holy orders. There’s more to come, red tape and forms to fill out, among other things.
image

 

Leave a Reply

