Selfie fails

image

Irritated

image

Classic resting bitch face

image

So fake

image

Incredibly fake

image

Scared or incredulous,  take your pick

image

Smug, my final choice

Jerry always tried to get me to smile in pictures but it didn’t look right. I have a serious case of Resting Bitch Face, there’s nothing anybody can do about it.  It didn’t help that I hated having someone take my picture. In our wedding video I give the camera guy the fish eye at one point.

Jerry didn’t like having his picture taken either but when he smiled it looked genuine. It often was.

image

Jerry being himself

I’m trying to take a decent picture to post on LinkedIn, my current pic sucks rocks.  I usually look pissed off, incredulous or fake, especially when I smile, it is so not me. But I don’t want to look hostile and scare people and I worry that my being older, something quite obvious, does not put off people either.

Jerry didn’t care, he was comfortable with himself. He took great pride in pointing out that Brad Pitt had gray in
his beard too. But I think he’d be irritated that growing a beard is trendy now, he had a beard in high school. When people thought it meant you were a hippie, stoner, anarchist or something worse, not from here.  The only person who touched the beard was Larry, his barber for 27 years.

It’s hard to find a job when you’re old. Older. When interviewers ask why I want to move I have to tell them about Jerry. They usually say something like “I’m sorry,” there’s a brief moment and then it moves on. Which is what I’m trying to do, more or less.

He would encourage me to try and do better. Even though it wasn’t true he would say I was the smartest person he knew and made me believe it.

Leave a Reply

