belated anniversary

It’s been 2 years since my gastric bypass. I went into surgery on October 11, 2012. I didn’t realize the date had passed, probably because of Jerry.

In that time a lot has happened and I’ve changed as well. I’m in better health, I’ve done several 5Ks and one half marathon. I am more relaxed in yoga class, I can keep up and no longer feel like I have to prove I belong there, that I’m capable. Although there are still some poses I can’t do I notice that I’m not the only one and most of these people are younger than me. I look better too.

Even though it’s been 2 years I’m surprised when I look at myself in the mirror. I still pick larger sizes out of habit when I go shopping. I’ve lost 70 pounds, not as much as some gastric bypass patients but still pretty dramatic. I know I’m physically smaller and I am trying to see myself as I look now, not how I used to look. It’s not as easy as it sounds.

Eating is perhaps the most obvious change. I occasionally eat fish and chicken, though usually not together. It wasn’t for religious reasons. I lost my taste for beef and pork, they don’t make me sick and I can still digest them but they don’t taste as good as before. A friend of mine decided to give up all meat except for fish for health reasons and I thought it sounded like a good idea but giving up most animal flesh came from my own stomach and taste buds. I did not lose my taste for chocolate. I eat smaller meals, more like snacks and I eat more of these small meals. I take my multivitamin and calcium supplements every day too. I almost live on low-fat protein bars but have avoided protein drinks, lost my fondness for them during the liquid diet phase before my surgery.

Leave a Reply

