Zumba

I went to my first Zumba class today. My sister talked me into it, her friend Deanna just got certified to teach and was having her first class at the church gym. I was a little hesitant, I am a clumsy person and have no rhythm. I’ve been doing yoga about once a week and have spent very little time on the treadmill and running so I am not really in shape right now. I was really hesitant after looking at Zumba videos on youtube. I saw groups of taut bodied people led by professional dancers doing fast and complicated routines and my initial thought was “this is going to kill me.”  Yet I went and I was surprised. Our class was less a choreographed spectacle and a lot like this, but thankfully without this song.

Since I no longer go to the same church as my sisters (it’s a long story) I hadn’t seen a lot of people from there in awhile. I recognized a couple of the women mostly on sight and talked to a couple of them. Deanna hadn’t seen me in over a year and complimented me on my weight-loss and a few others noticed too. I didn’t tell them about the bypass, I think some of them knew, from my sisters.

Most of the class was made up of middle-aged women, a few younger girls and a couple of brave men. Deanna’s mom was there too, she  told me they take a class at their gym about twice a week though she has to modify some of the moves.  I told her this was my first time and I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. It would be fun, she said but first I had to sign a waiver and the sign-up sheet. She brought bottled water for us too and that was a big plus. I was surprised to see my other sister,who told me our sister, the one who talked us into this, wasn’t coming. I rolled my eyes but she said the fence guy was coming and she had to wait on him. Her fence and one of the trees in her backyard were destroyed in the tornado a few weeks ago and with all the demand he had this was the first time the fence guy could fit her in. So we got in place and the class started.

Deanna started us out slowly, thankfully. She knew most of us were newbies and most of us were old broads. She told us to try to mirror her moves but if we couldn’t copy her to keep moving, it didn’t have to be perfect, the important part was to try. If we needed to stop or rest that was OK too, she said. She broke it into 15 minute sections so we could stop and take a drink or rest if needed. I managed to keep going and kept up, more or less, with her. My moves were not as smooth as hers, I nearly knocked over my sister’s water bottle and almost collided with another woman at one point but overall it was good.  At the end we took a group pic, the first class of survivors. I told Deanna’s mom I’d be willing to try it again and she told us shes planning on offering classes 3 days a week. I will try to go back Friday, it was like aerobics. I did that back in the day and while I never got in shape doing that this was more fun than just doing the treadmill. I hope I can get back into the habit of jogging and that this will be a good way to ease back into it. Even though I can claim the heat is why I don’t jog I know I can still go to the gym so it’s a weak excuse. I’ve just been lazy and I can feel my butt getting soft. I may not make Zumba a regular thing but it’s nice to know it’s an option.

Leave a Reply

