weigh in disappointment and perspective

I had a bummer weigh in Tuesday morning, I hadn’t lost anything in a week. I weighed the same as last Tuesday and frankly I was pissed. I had followed my diet, drank my fluids, took my meds, walked, and did everything I was told.  So this was the first question I asked my surgeon. It was my 2 wk follow-up and I already had a list of questions but this was the first thing I blurted out when he asked if I had any questions.

His answer surprised me. It was OK.  He pointed out I had already lost 20% of the total amount I was expected to lose, I have roughly 40 pounds to go. In fact I may have lost too much too fast and he wants to see a slow steady loss instead of a fast one.  I will continue to lose but not as quickly as I did in the last two weeks, my body will see to that.

The second thing I asked was if I could move on to pureed food and ditch the protein shakes that I hate so much. One of the nurses told me I’d be drinking them another month or two and I was sorely tempted to wrap the blood pressure cuff around her neck when I heard that. My surgeon said no, but before I could get violent he added they sold a special protein bar that I could digest and I could have fruit-free non-custard light yogurt. I’ve already had yogurt and he said to continue to eat it. I will come back in 8 weeks and he said we’ll see then about ditching the meds and moving on to real food. I hope so, it would be nice to eat at Christmas with my family. I also got his OK to take the Host at mass.  I bought 2 containers of extra high protein yogurt and 4 boxes of protein bars. I knew my son would want to try the protein bars.  Both yogurt and protein bars taste wonderful. It was great to actually bite into and chew something besides my calcium citrate. I’ll probably be sick of them by December but for now I’m happy, happy. I don’t plan to buy any more Atkins shakes and will eventually finish off the Carnation Breakfast. I’m thinking of digging a deep hole and burying the Unjury.  I’m no longer worried about getting enough protein now.

He gave me the OK to go back to work and start working out, even encouraged me to start weight training. So I plan to go back to yoga next Tuesday. I’m even thinking about buying my own yoga mat.  As for weight training I’d have to get help, I might go back to the Indian Clinic gym and ask the guys there about starting out. I am intimidated by gyms in general.

I asked him about doing the zombie 5K and he said I wasn’t in shape for it yet. But I’m going to walk today and see if I can do 3 miles. If I can, without getting too tired or feeling sick, I’m going to sign up for that race. I will enter as a human, because I don”t have the imagination for a costume, but I will be as slow as the average zombie. Maybe slower, but darn it, I want that t-shirt.

I admit I wanted some instant answers and didn’t get them, not the ones I wanted. But that’s OK, I can see the time is coming when I can eat real food, when I can finally stop taking the meds and even meet my weight loss goals. It’s  a slow process and he told me patients can take up to 18 months to lose weight, few people continue to lose after that time. It also takes the stomach about that long to fully adjust to the changes and not to rush anything. In fact he said starting on solids too early slows down weight loss and some patients have even more trouble losing, another reason to keep me on liquids. So I am going to keep on keeping on and try to be patient.  It will happen.

Since I woke up thirsty at 4am this seems appropriate. The chorus adds so much, in my opinion. Glorious.

3 thoughts on “weigh in disappointment and perspective

  1. I am curious to find out what blog system you happen to be utilizing?
    I’m having some small security problems with my latest site and I would like to find something more safe. Do you have any suggestions?

  2. I rarely leave a response, however i did a few searching and wound
    up here weigh in disappointment and perspective quichepuppy.

    And I do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be only me or does it seem like a few of these comments look like they are written by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are posting on other sites, I’d like
    to follow anything new you have to post. Could
    you list of every one of your community pages like your
    twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

Leave a Reply

