filter removal

They removed my IVC filter yesterday. This was the final procedure of my gastric bypass, from now on it’s (hopefully) only doctor appts. I go to see my surgeon on Tuesday and I hope he tells me I can have something besides those vile shakes for protein and I no longer have to take my meds. I know I’ll always have to take the supplements and that’s cool.

Right now I’m having some decaf tea. I’ve never been a tea drinker, I was a Diet Coke Diet Dr. Pepper fiend. But it is cold outside and the warm tea soothes my stomach. I can understand why the British were in the Chinese’s debt for tea all those years.

The operation, for it was, far as I am concerned, went well. I got to pre-op and went through the drill of changing clothes and waiting and getting hooked up to an IV.  When I got to surgery they checked to see if I was prepped (I was) and taken to surgery where they exposed my ladyparts and swabbed them with some cold alcohol. I lay there like this awhile and asked when I’d be knocked out. The nurse told me I wouldn’t be, I would be awake and she gave me painkillers through the IV.

The prep wasn’t too bad, but the blue sheet placed over me to isolate the surgical area had to be moved and adjusted. I felt the sticky parts pulled away from my skin and tensed though it didn’t hurt. Everything was finally ready and I lay there in my hairnet listening to oldies while we waited for the surgeon.

The surgery itself was short. I wasn’t in pain and only felt some pressure on my stomach and some pulling. They did tell me the incision would be twice as long as the first one, getting the filter out takes a little more room. But I should be going home later that day too.  They said everything went well. The filter did its job, it caught one blood clot and someone even showed me when I asked.

Since I wasn’t unconscious they took me straight to my room. I was told I couldn’t move my right leg and had to keep it straight. I was to lie flat on my back for the next six hours and have a good rest. I did, sort of but never quite fell asleep. The sounds outside, the blood pressure cuff, weight of the heart monitor and being unable to move around too much kept me awake. My sister came to visit me too, I asked how she and the baby were. She told me she and her husband bought a crib and I nearly sat up. We’re not supposed to buy anything for a baby until it’s born, it’s a cultural thing, and I had reminded both my sisters of this. I didn’t yell but reminded her again and said if they had a baby shower before the birth I wouldn’t be going but would wait and buy stuff only when the little one was here.  We talked about other things too and she left an hour later.  They brought me a tray and I managed to eat some cream soup and drink a little Crystal Light.

I went home six hours later. The surgeon came to see me and said I did fine and he was releasing me. The nurse came to take out my IV and remove the monitors. I got dressed, I was a little shaky and stiff from lying down so long and it took me awhile. Getting on my jeans took longer but going to the bathroom was a wonderful relief. The nurse returned with my discharge papers and told me I needed to go home and rest. No lifting anything weighing more than 10 pounds for a week,  no driving for 24 hours and since I wasn’t hurting now I probably wouldn’t hurt but to take Tylenol. If I began to bleed or really hurt to come back. Jerry brought the car around and they wheeled me to the door. I noticed it was cold outside and got in the car.

I followed their instructions, even forbidding the cat from sitting on my lap. If he insisted I could put a pillow between us but he didn’t. I went to bed and because I was flat most of the day my back ached. I rolled around to ease the ache but finally got up a few minutes ago and made my tea.  I feel OK.

Leave a Reply

