Bypass news

Lake Hefner, near the feral kitties compound, and my thumb.

Yesterday was all about me. Jerry and I spent most of the day at the surgeon’s office, I had a pre-op class and appt.with my surgeon, the last one before my surgery. Pre-op class was just me and Jerry with the dietitian, which seemed a little awkward at first but we both had questions and she managed to answer all of them, she even brought up things I hadn’t considered and covered that too. Basically I’ll be drinking most of my meals and eating very soft or pureed foods for about 4 months, a bummer with the holidays coming up but I won’t feel like pigging out. She talked about depression, that food won’t be my comfort and best friend anymore, that my “friend” can make me sick. That my family, co-workers and friends may treat me differently and even resent me losing weight and getting healthier. She also gave us a coupon for Bed Bath and Beyond and recommended one of their blenders. We got out a little later than expected and went downstairs to have lunch before the appt. with my surgeon.

My surgeon looked over my charts and asked what questions I had. I really didn’t and he reviewed what a bypass is and how it works. He said the surgery takes between an hour and  half to two hours, that I’ll be in recovery and Jerry won’t see me til I’m in my room, which is a relief to me. If all goes well I should be going home the next day. He did say I should consider having a temporary  IVC filter to keep blood clots from forming. My surgeon doesn’t do this, a cardiologist does and it will come out 4 weeks later. It’s an outpatient procedure and is usually done a day or few days before surgery. I asked the nurse about getting the name of the cardiologist they recommend and she said it was a done deal, that the dr.’s office should be calling me in a few days. She has the same first name as me and said she’s having a bypass in November. I was stunned, she isn’t obese but she is a little chunky and takes meds. She said she’s getting married in Feb. and thinks she’s more excited about the surgery though she’s excited about both.

I start the 10 day diet on the 1st. My surgeon told me about what will sabotage this and not to do it. The main thing is to follow the diet, no exceptions but if I feel sick to call the office. I take my meds up til the last day and nothing after midnight on the 30th. To bring my meds to the hospital but that I probably won’t need them (which I hope). I asked if I could be shot in the face with a laser the next week and he said sure, but I probably won’t feel like it. I’m going to schedule that too, I figure I’m off for 2 weeks, might as well. I can drive soon as I’m off the narcotics and promise to not rob banks. I can walk soon as I feel like it, the next day is preferred but I may not be up to doing 4 miles. Yoga might take a little longer and he recommended I start weight training too.

We got home before 5. I ate a cheese stick and drank some Wal-Mart brand Crystal Light and went to yoga. I thought while I was in class that one year ago none of this would seem like my life. Somebody else, with more money and better insurance maybe, but  it is happening and I’m adjusting to these changes without fear or reluctance. I’m not afraid to try new things, I’ve been nervous before, mainly because I didn’t want to look stupid but now it’s no big deal. In yoga class we’re all beginners, several of the other women are my age or older, some are not as flexible as me, some are way more but nobody cares, nobody is watching or judging, it’s not a competition. Same with the surgery, there are people in the waiting rooms of all sizes, big as or bigger than me, some in wheelchairs. Some have had the surgery and others are waiting but no one stares at you or asks why you’re there.

I do plan to eat a few things while I still can. Diet Cherry Limeades (because carbonated beverages cause gas and you take in too much air drinking through a straw), bagels (some breads will bunch up and fill the pouch too quickly and be hard to digest) non-sugar-free cookies (regular cookies, like the Snickerdoodles at Someplace Else), beef jerky (needs no explanation) and gum. Gum causes you to take in air, can stimulate your appetite and if a bypass patient swallows it, you are in a world of hurt and misery.

re-posted from LiveJournal

Leave a Reply

