checking my blood sugar (a pain I’m used to)

I’ve been checking my blood sugar and trying to keep it under 200. I’ve been watching my carbs, actually watching them this time and it seems to be working. I haven’t had the highs or lows and none of the lousy side effects. Except for some nausea but it’s nothing like the intense cramping I had before.  Gatorade is my new best friend too, I took some to work and I chug it whenever I walk and after yoga. Fruit punch id my favorite and I found a low cal version I bought today.

The biggest change is checking my blood sugar, I do it 2-3 times a day. Usually when I first wake up and after lunch or in the afternoon, I sometimes have energy lows then. I admit I dread sticking my fingers, I use a fresh lancet every time (well, almost every time) and press it into the soft pad of my finger before I push the button. It hurts and I wince a little then wait for the blood to come. I feel a sense of relief when I finally hear the beep of the monitor, letting me know I’ve shed enough blood to satisfy the little monster. Fortunately my monitor doesn’t demand much, I have a Freestyle Freedom Lite and a small smear usually does it. Still I sometimes wait before I push the lancet button, I try not think about what I’m about to do and when I do I prepare myself for that brief moment of pain. I am getting used to it and these moments are becoming more rare.

I walked 4 miles and a little further at the lake today. The wind was blowing against me and it took longer than usual, an hour and half, but I felt accomplished. It’s the first time in weeks I’ve done this distance and I felt the effort. I remind myself I’m supposed to do the half marathon at the Memorial marathon in April and I need to start training. Registration is now open. I’d hoped to do the Juke Joint Jog in Stillwater but it will be right after surgery. One of these years I’m going to make it there.

Juke Joint Jog

http://eskimojoes.com/node/399/revisions/2725/view

OKC Memorial Marathon

http://www.okcmarathon.com/

Leave a Reply

