Take a deep breath

If I thought I’d be having my gastric bypass two weeks from now I was sorely mistaken. I was all gung-ho and psyched to do this thing when I hit 2 roadblocks–my new GP and my A1C. New GP was assigned to me and I made an appt. to see her and get the approval letter I needed. She said was skeptical at first, thought I should try the old diet and exercise method again but said she wanted to see the results of my labs and stress test. Then she said even if she was OK with the idea she wasn’t going to be on staff for much longer so she couldn’t sign anything that said she’s continue to treat me.  My A1C was higher this time too and that was the second reason she said no.

My bariatric doctor started me on a new, expensive med, Byetta. It’s not a pill, I have to give myself an injection twice a day and continue to take Metformin. I go back the first of next month and see if my A1C is a 7 or better, my labs said I’m currently an 8. The dr. did say she’d OK me for the operation if my A1C was better but she’s still not saying she’ll treat me after surgery; I’ll need another letter from another staff doctor. I’m hoping I can get approved and have my surgery next month.

Last Wednesday my son and I were hit on the highway. He and I survived, we weren’t injured and I am thankful for this, especially since his graduation is this weekend and he might not have lived to see it. We were hit hard and our car was literally stuck in the middle of the road, lights but no power,with cars coming behind us at 70-80 mph on a road without overhead streetlights. The damage is on the right side, the bumper is about to fall off and I’ve been talking to various insurance people. I’m waiting to hear if the other driver’s insurance company is accepting liability, which I hope they do. Would make my life a little easier. I’m still a little shaky when I think what could have happened to us.

Leave a Reply

